Kundalini Yoga Chakras

chakras with the inflow of cosmic energy.......chakras with awakened kundalini

Chakra Name Tattva / color Energy function Conditions Location Key function Key description Organigland
1 Muladhara



eliminating energy fixity, depression, greed, steadiness The end of the spine between the anus and the sexual organs Security & survival Foundations, survival, security, habit, self-acceptence Organs of eliminatiom
2 Svadisthana



eliminating liquid guilt, delusion, pitylessness, creativity, affection The sexual organs Creativity To feel, to desire, to create Sexual organs, reproductive glands, kidneys, bladder
3 Manipura



digest food desire for control, fear, shame, purification The area of the navel point, solar plexus Action & Balance The will of the spiritual warrior Navel plexus, liver, gall bladder, spleen, digestive organs, pancreas, adrenal glands
4 Anahata



promotes circulation, flexibility indecision, anxiety, attachment, hope, forgiveness On the breastbone at the level of the nipples Love & compassion Love and awakening. From "me to we" Heart, lungs, thymus gland
5 Vishuddha


Light blue

containment of self self-control, sense of command, honor, contentment The throat Projective power of the word Hearing and speaking the truth. The Teacher Trachea, throat, cervical vertebrea, thyroid
6 Ajna Indigo     Between the eyebrows Intuition, wisdom & identity The union of opposites Brain, pituitary gland
7 Sahasrara Violet     Crown of the head Humility & vastness Transcendence. The Tenth Gate Brain, pineal gland
8 Aura White     The electromagnetic field Radiance    


Chakra Name Qualities Shadow Yoga asanas KY kriyas / breath / chant / Meditation
1 Muladhara Grounded, centered, secure, loyal, stable. Healthy functions of elimination Fear, insecurity. Life feels as a burden; feeling of not really belonging on Earth or in one's culture or family. Weak contitution, elimination problems, reduced physical and mental resistance, sexual perversions. Crow Pose, Chair Pose, Body drops, Frog Pose, Mulbhandh, Front Stretches, Lying on stomach with feet kicking buttocks. Healthy Bowel System, Flexibility and the Spine, Disease Resistance & Heart Helper
2 Svadisthana

Positive, relaxed attitude to sexual functions; patience; creativity; responsible relationships.

Rigid emotions, frigidity, guilt, no bounderies, irrisponsible relationships. Problems with reproductive organs or kidneys. Frog Pose, Cobra Pose, Butterfly, Cat-Cow, Maha Mudra, Pelvic Lifts.

Sat Kriya, Releasing Premenstrual Tension & Balancing Sexual Energy, Sex Energy Transformation

3 Manipura The center of personal power and commitment. Self-esteem, identity, judgment. This is where the strenght for inner balance, inspiration and good health is developed. Anger, greed, shame, despair. Obstacles everywhere. Not enough strenght and spontaneity. Conforming in order to be recognized. Refuting ones own wishes and emotions. Problems with digestion, the liver, the gallbladder and the pancreas. Stretch Pose, Peacock Pose, Bow Pose, Fish Pose, Diaphragm Lock; all exercises which train the abdominal muscles.

Breath of Fire, Sat Kriya, Nabhi Kriya , Nabhi Kriya for Prana-Apana

4 Anahata Compassion; kindness; forgiveness; service; love. Recognizing and understanding these qualities in others. Sacred transformation. Awakening to spiritual awareness. Grief. Attachment. Closed to surroundings. Easily hurt. Dependent on love and affection from others. Fear of rejection. Helper syndrome. Heartlessness. Heart problems; lung problems; blood pressure problems. Ego Eradicator, Yoga Mudra, Bear Grip, Baby Pose (strengthens the heart muscles). All arm exercises, and exercises which twist the upper torso. All Pranayam, Magnetic Field & Heart Center, The Essence of Self
5 Vishuddha

The center of truth, language, knowledge and the ability to communicate effectively. Authenticity. Healthy selfexpression and interactions. Inspiring, teaching. Embodying God's Will.

Lethargy, weakness in expressive and descriptive abilities, shyness, voice problems, insecurity, fear of other people's opinions and judgements. Throat problems, neck problems, thyroid problems. Shoulder Stand, Cobra Pose, Plow Pose, Camel Pose, Cat-Cow, Neck Rolls, Neck Lock, nose to knees.

All chanting, Wahe Guru Kriya, Kriya for Creativity

6 Ajna Center of intuition, clairvoyance; visualizing; fantasizing; concentration and determination. Self-initiation. Power of projection. Understanding your purpose. Confusion, depression. Rejection of spirituality. Over-intellectualizing. Archer Pose, Yoga Mudra. All exercises where the forehead rests on the floor. Meditating on the Third Eye, Long Chant, Kirtan Kriya, Whistle Breaths, Pituitary Gland Series , Ajna Stimulation
7 Sahasrara The seat of the soul. Connection to the highest Self. Enlightenment. Unity. Elevation. Relationship to the Unknown. Grief. The feeling of being separated from existence, and from abundance. Fear of death. Ego Eradicator, Maha Mudra. Concentrating on the tip of the nose. All meditation, Sat Kriya, Foundation for Infinity
8 Aura The aura combines the effects of all the chakras, and constitutes their total projection. The aura projects and protects. Shy, withdrawn, vulnerable. Triangle Pose, Ego Eradicator, Archer Pose. All arm exercises.

All chakras: KY basic spinal energy series, KY for sex energy transformation KY for Balancing chakras and Corresponding Organs (*)

Aura: All meditation, Strengthening the Aura, Exercise Set for Balancing the Aura, Exercise Set for Electromagnetic Frequancy

PDF in A4

Chakras as taught by Yogi Bhajan

Nederlandse versie

(*) updated June 7" 2014

Pinklotus KY Mediations KY Kriyas KY Healing KY Maha Mudras KY Pranayamas KY Mudras KY Postures KY Numerology KY Chakras KY Mantras

pinklotus advaita freedom YIS meditations kundalini yoga poems drawings